Tags

, ,

Vanity of vanities. All is vanity. All is grasping after wind. Why do I keep planning, cleaning, cooking, teaching?

Shelves are dusted. Floors are swept and dust returns from whence it came.

Dinner prepared. Dishes rinsed. They all come hungry again.

Child reminded. Child rebuked. Child forgets and does it again.

Tired.

It is never finished.

So, I applied my heart to find wisdom, knowledge and understanding.   I would gain control of this! I made systems for chores, education and discipline.  Schedules were posted on fridge.  I bought organizations bins and shelves and read books written by wise parents with perfect, adult children. But the toddler dumped the bins and used them as boats and the adult children were found not to be so perfect. This too was vanity and chasing after wind.

Baby proof latches and electric outlet protectors were replaced by search engine filters. Nothing new under the sun.

And then I thought in my heart, “Is this really meaningful? Who knows how it will all end. Sometimes mothers give decades of their life and nothing turns out as they wish.” This was a great vexation. My heart did not rest.

I set my heart to enjoy my vanity. The fresh scent of fluffy folded towels, clear shining counters and tidy shelves, chunky toddler hands with fistfuls of flowers, twirling princesses, and the insights of those almost finished with childhood.

Thankfulness.

I look at my man-child. Voice deepening, shoulders broadening and oh! To hold his toddler self on my lap once more! Downy head against my cheek. Eternity is in our hearts, yet time devours much.

Enjoy your vanity, but do not hope in it. All is dust. To dust all will return. But His Kingdom will be forever because it is God who does it. There is only One who can grasp the wind. He who commanded the sea and wind be calm. He who has said,

It is finished.”

And I said to my soul, “Rest in Him, and work from that rest. For He came to make all things new. He takes our frail efforts and breaths life in to them. Look to Him.”

“My heart will be restless until it rests in Thee.”

-Augustine

“Unless the Lord builds the house, the laborers labor in vain”.

– King David

“One waters. One plants, but God gives the growth.”

– Apostle Paul

“Martha, Martha, you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

-Jesus

Whose hands have gathered up the wind?
Who has wrapped up the waters in a cloak?
Who has established all the ends of the earth?
What is his name, and what is the name of his son?

-the words of Agur, Proverbs 30

And he [Jesus] arose, and rebuked the wind, and said unto the sea, “Peace, be still.” And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm.

-Mark

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

-Jesus

“Mom, do you want me to be a vain boy? Because if I wash these dishes, they’ll get dirty again, and that would be vanity and chasing after wind.” 

-Justy, 9 years old