Tags

, ,

CAP bibleHave you ever wished for a Bible curriculum that didn’t choose between being devotional and academic?  A curriculum that taught details in a fun way while slowly revealing the big picture? One that included memory verses, children’s catechisms, vocabulary and geography, so that the work is all done for you?   I have been using Classical Academic Press Bible with my three youngest this year and it does all this. I absolutely love it.  CAP Bible is a four-year,  full Bible curriculum written from a Covenantal point of view.  It is great for parents who want to take Bible seriously as an academic subject, while still keeping it Christ-centered and fun.

First, I love this Bible because it weaves so many aspects of Bible knowledge together.  It teaches chronologically and includes a wide variety of story facts, but it always shows how every story is really about Jesus.  God’s character and His unfolding Covenantal plan are central.  It teaches children’s catechism, Bible geography, and basic theology.  It also teaches Biblical and theological vocabulary.  My third grader is now comfortable with words like Elohim, Sanctification and Redemption.  Nothing is dumbed down in this curriculum, but true to Classical Academic Press style, difficult concepts are broken down and taught in such a clear way that even small children can understand.

My fifth and sixth graders are working through book 3, the Gospels. This level moves chronologically through Jesus’s life. My kids read the passages from each gospel having to do with the story for the week.  Together we work through comparative charts, maps and worksheets.  They can now tell which gospel a person is reading from without hearing the passage because they understand the audience each gospel writer was focusing on. They learn many story facts, vocabulary, and basic theology, but again, the central them is Jesus’ character, His goodness, mercy, justice, and grace.

This is a great curriculum to give kids a foundational knowledge of scripture so that they can move on to doctrinal studies in junior high and high school.  Most importantly, it’s fun.  I don’t want my children to just know the Bible, I want them to love it.  I wish this curriculum had been around when my teens were younger.

 

